VH1 Hip Hop Honors week

Last week was ka rayy zeee running around, going to some great parties and seeing some great performances. Here’s how it went.

Monday – Robin Thicke

There is a monthly party in LA called Soul Food which is starting out here now. Fusicology was one of the media partners so I had to check it out which also promoted Robin Thicke’s listening party. I got to meet DJ Scetch who flew in from LA (waves hi!). The party was jumpin even before we got in. There was a long line going in but thank god the venue was well ventilated otherwise there would have been a lot of sweaty nasty people. Robin Thicke showed up for an hour and the women pretty much went ape shit. The DJ had to make an announcement to give him some room because they were suffocating him. I have more dignity than that thank you. I only tried to rip some of his hair out so I can make a voodoo doll out of it and bind a love spell…umm..  I spoke too much. Moving on…

Tuesday – Raphael Saadiq

Phil, Thuy and I went to check out Raphael Saadiq’s show together. The venue sold out of tickets a few days before but luckily we have a great relationship with SOBs so I managed to get in. Word from another friend who went was that Wesley Snipes was there! How random is that ish?

Raphael doesn’t interact with the audience much but his music speaks for itself. Switching from his Lucy Pearl to Tony! Toni! Tone! days and his new album, everyone sang along and would not leave after his last song. Encore please!

Another show is added tonight due to the success of last week so if you missed out last time, go tonight!

After Raphael Saadiq, Phil and Thuy called it a night while I sauntered over to APT to check out OP! dj-ing for the monthly Raw Fusion party and saw Taylor McFerrin performed for the first time which was awesome.

Wednesday – VH1 Hip Honors pre-festivities

In honor of VH1 Hip Hop Honors, there were a bunch of parties going on. I attended the Back to the 90s party where Rahzel, Primo, AZ, and a bunch of folks came through. We party hopped around but everything else was pretty much dead and then ended my night back at APT where it’s always guaranteed good music.

Thursday – VH1 Hip Hop Honors Taping

My friend Danny G. who you may have seen on VH1 as one of the comedian commentators on reality shows, invited me to the VH1 Hip Hop Honors taping hosted by Tracy Morgan. WooOo. I was excited.

It was held at Hammerstein Ballroom. The main floor was the pit where the general audience stood and the first mezzanine was where we were situated with seats thank goodness. There was a full open bar and free snacks all night. I got to literally brush shoulders with Wyclef, Gym Class Heroes, Fat Joe, Charlie Ahearn but it was too bad cameras weren’t allowed inside.

The honorees this year are Cypress Hill, De La Soul, Too Short, Naughty by Nature and Slick Rick. I loved that De La performed since I’ve never seen them live plus they were on stage with Mos and Q-tip. There was also a tribute to Isaac Hayes (R.I.P.). The audience was super hyped seeing all the performances by Bun B, Chuck D, Eve, Q-tip, Mos Def, Ceelo, Wyclef, The Roots, Ghostface, etc etc. I think Too Short was the least well received because he represented the westside. buncha haters I think!

Who performed for who:

Tribute to Isaac Hayes performed by The Roots, Estelle, Q-tip and Ceelo. Juelz, Wyclef, Big Boi did Too Short. Bun B, Lil Jon and Kid Rock performed for Slick Rick. Eve, Ghostface, Biz Markie, did Naughty by Nature. Q-tip, Mos, Flava Flav did De La Soul.

I know I missed out a few people but that’s all I can remember for now.

VH1 Hip Hop Honors airs tonight, Oct 6th so if you’re not a Heroes fan… check it out.

One response to “VH1 Hip Hop Honors week

  1. Vh1 contacted me for some of my shots of Too Short to use during the tribute. I just posted a gallery of some of my music/art images, check it out. victorhall.com

Leave a Reply

